Our staff

Our staff are responsible for supporting and assisting the Council in achieving its vision for the community, by providing efficient and effective services and administration support.

Chief Executive Officer

Owen Pickles
owen@cic.govt.nz

Corporate Services Manager

Deborah Goomes
deborah@cic.govt.nz

Emergency Management

Rana Solomon
rana@cic.govt.nz

Council Secretary

Jo Clark
secretary@cic.govt.nz

Waste Management

Jason Goomes
jason@cic.govt.nz

Colleen Clearwater
colleen@cic.govt.nz

Pest Management

Kerri Moir
kerri.moir@ecan.govt.nz

Our elected representatives

As with all local authorities, elections are held every three years to appoint a Mayor and Councillors. The most recent election was held in 2016; click here [PDF, 84 KB] to see the official declaration of results.

Mayor

Alfred W Preece
awpreece@xtra.co.nz

Deputy Mayor

Jeffrey Clarke
jc.sean@xtra.co.nz

Councillors

Eion Chisholm
tengaio@xtra.co.nz

Monique Croon
monique.croon5@gmail.com

Keri Day
keri_day@xtra.co.nz

Richard Joyce
sbjoyce@xtra.co.nz

Nigel Ryan
nigel.lou-ryan@hotmail.com

Jason Seymour
jasechatham@hotmail.co.nz

Eva Tuck
evacherie.artz@xtra.co.nz

Elections are governed by the Chatham Islands Council Act 1995.

Chatham Islands Council Act

Environment Canterbury support

Environment Canterbury(external link) staff in Christchurch support the Chatham Islands Council with planning, science, corporate services, resource management, emergency management, maritime safety and biosecurity.